Exams, Credits and grading

The academic year normally starts in October with lectures lasting until June and it consists of two semesters. The full-time workload for one academic year is 60 ECTS credits. There are usually five exam periods during an academic year, although this number may vary from institution to institution.

Grading in higher education levels

Grading system in higher education is scaled from 5 to 10. Grade 5 (insufficient) is the lowest (and a failing grade) and grade 10 (outstanding) is the best one.

10  Outstanding
9 Excellent
8 Very good
7 Good
6 Sufficient
5 Insufficient

Grading in other education levels

Grading system used at primary and secondary level has a grading scale from 1-5.  Grade 1 (insufficient) is the lowest and failing grade while grade 5 (excellent) is the best one.

4 Very good
3 Good
2 Sufficient
1 Insufficient